Alriiiiiight.

My blog is going to be slightly different over the next few weeks (if I will even have internet access).

Why? Because I’m a poor uni student who can’t afford rent, all the bills and Internet and food.

Just joking. (But seriously though.)

I’m actually in Nepal about to start my adventure to the base camp of Mount Everest.

I’m scared and nervous but mostly excited.

Oh, by the way, my boyfriend is also doing it with me. There you go, I said it. So when I say “we” I mean my boyfriend and I.

img_1590
The light splatter on my face is cool – don’t judge me.

Oh, and our travel agent told us a story last week about a girl who did the same trek as us and couldn’t walk anymore so she rode up on a donkey.

I know you’re thinking woah a donkey, but hang on, that’s not all.

She got to fly back down in a helicopter! Imagine the amazing views of the himalayas!

img_1599
The view from the airplane window flying into Kathmandu.

But the fun stops there – She spent the next five days in hospital in Kathmandu suffering from a severe sugar low.

The one thing that puts me at ease is her insurance paid for absolutely everything, including for a family member to fly over and be with her.

Now, as much fun as that sounds – you know, riding on a donkey up to EBC and flying over the Himalayas for free – the health problems don’t.

Where I’m going with this story is how fortunate we Westerners are in these types of countries.

The culture here is amazing, the people are lovely, but the only thing that really hits hard is THIS is what you call poverty.

These people don’t necessarily get the chance to call an ambulance in an emergency. They don’t always get the chance to be helped with medical expenses IN THEIR OWN COUNTRY.

Driving in a taxi from the Kathmandu International Airport to our hotel yesterday afternoon was eye opening.

The streets were incredibly dirty, the roads are smashed up with ragged edges, no footpaths, no road rules; the buildings are falling apart – they’re rotten. Even their powerlines are wrapped up and tangled.

img_1659

img_1662

img_1615

But they aren’t just buildings… They are people’s homes.

There were men and women and children living in broken, mouldy, destroyed shacks just metres from the roads, and their clothing and personal hygiene was incredibly scarce.

It breaks my heart to know that we have so much, and without a doubt, we all take certain things for granted – money, flash cars, education, doctors, emergency services, a nice HOME.

There is no denying there is poverty in this world and we need to do something to fix it.

– Lacee

